Wisconsin REU in Astrophysics
Summer 2009


Here are Wisconsin's 2009 REU students: Anna Boehle (Smith College), John Chisholm (Boston College), Christina DeBianchi (Howard University), Tyler Engel (Univ of Wisconsin-Whitewater), Nicholas Hunt-Walker (City University of New York - York College), Jonathan Jara-Almonte (Univ of Wisconsin-Madison), Aisha Mahmoud (University of Arkansas, Fayetteville), Matthew Miller (Univ of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Tor Ole Odden (St Olaf College), Margaret Swaney (Colgate University), Christopher Witt (Univ of Wisconsin-Whitewater); 2009 Program Director: Edwin Mierkiewicz

2009 REU Schedule

Student Research Webpage Final Talk (title)
Anna Boehle Circular Polarization of Light Reflected by Aligned Dust Grains
John Chisholm Transition Probabilities of Rare Earth Elements
Christina DeBianchi The Digital C-Band Reflectometer on the MST
Tyler Engel Developing a New Catalog of High Velocity Clouds
Nicholas Hunt-Walker Identification of X-ray Sources in the Fornax Dwarf Spheroidal
Jonathan Jara-Almonte Construction of the Plasma Couette Experiment
Aisha Mahmoud X-ray sources of the Young Cluster M35
Matthew Miller Determining the Scale Height of Fe III in the Milky Way
Tor Ole Odden The EarthCore Project
Margaret Swaney X-ray Microcalorimetry
Christopher Wit 21 cm Astronomy and How it Relates to Intermediate Velocity Clouds
(IVCs) and High Velocity Clouds (HVCs)

Back to Wisconsin Astrophysics REU home page

last update: Sept 30, 2012